Quillers have enquired about dowels

You may have seen a quilling design for which you might use a dowel.  A dowel is, basically, any object around which quillers can make Ring Coils.  Dowels can be any shape but are usually cylindrical so lots of objects found around the home may be used as dowels.

Mixed dowels from your stationery drawer

Mixed dowels from your stationery drawer

You can also buy sets of wooden dowels from JJ Quilling Design  http://www.jjquilling.co.uk/Accessories/Quilling-Plus-items

Wooden dowel set

Wooden dowel set

You can also buy wooden ‘courons’ from lace-makers’ supplies – or make your own dowels from 10mm wide strips in useful sizes (marked and ready to use when required).

Couron & handmade dowels - starting to roll a 3mm Ring Coil

Couron & handmade dowels – starting to roll a 3mm Ring Coil

I notice that my students all like to use dowels for their Ring Coils, even if only to start them off.  Personally, I prefer simply to make a ring of the required diameter, just using my fingers, sticking an end to make a ring and then continuing to roll like that.

Measure a loop, stick the end down and roll up

Measure a loop, stick the end down and roll up

It’s whatever you find easiest, really.

P.S.  Have you joined The Quilling Guild yet?  http://www.quilling-guild.co.uk – magazines on quilling, a members’ blog, an annual Display of Quilling with international contributors, local workshops, the opportunity to become an accredited quiller, the chance to find out how to do things.

About Jane Jenkins Quilling

My interests are: Quilling - the art of manipulating paper strips to create pictures, greetings cards, free standing characters, floral displays, etc. Also Calligraphy - the art of fine writing. Decorative Painting/Folk Art - brush stroke work to decorate wooden and metal objects and paint on canvas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quillers have enquired about dowels

  1. Paula says:

    good ideas, I’ve used some of them, thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Anama Lily says:

    Thanks for sharing your expertise Jane!
    I have been trying to find a tool like the wooden one you have in the third picture but with no luck whatsoever. Would you please point me in the right direction?

    Love & Light & Paperspirals,
    Anama

    • Hello Anama. Having seen a lacemaker using one, I asked a friendly wood turner to turn my couron. However, I’ve also made one myself from a number of differently sized tight Quilled Solid Coils, stuck together to look similar. It may be more convenient to make a few without sticking them together, for ease of use and carrying, though. Hope this helps.

      • Anama Lily says:

        I have tried making dowels from tight coils in the past but then got the idea to use corrugated paper instead. The good thing is that it is thicker and you can end up with a huge diameter in
        a matter of a few coils. The downside is that is is not as uniformely tight as you would get from
        a more lightweight strip.
        You can see them here if you wish: http://www.paperspirals.com/2012/12/custom-tools.html

        In any case that wooden dowel of yours is absolutely gorgeous and I could not resist asking.
        I will definately try to find me one also!!

        Thanks again for the info and the inspirations you share with all quillers through your blog.
        Cheers and Happy Spiralings!

  3. quillingnerd says:

    Some great quilling on your website as well as the mod podged dowels – good idea! The downside of the wooden couron is that I forget which section I used so I have it more because I like it than it is of great use! My coloured, marked ring coils are my favourite dowels.
    I am delighted to be able to share the things I do with my classes – so much better than them disappearing off into the loft, never to see the light of day again! I will be describing your mod podged dowels to my students if that’s OK?

Leave a Reply

